Book Review: Relentless, by Nancy J Alexander

I love to read thriller novels. If done well, they keep me at the edge of my seat, waiting to know what happens next. That’s why I choose to read this genre more often than not. Judging the book by the title, I chose this novel because I expected a relentless pace of narration. The plot felt like it could do the title and my expectations justice.

Nancy J Alexander’s “Relentless” follows the story of Gina. It narrates how she escaped her prior life and identity and became a successful doctor. The past, however, continues to haunt her. Or is it a fear that the past has not left her completely, and that Jake, her cousin, who tormented her earlier, will return because he is obsessed with her? Can Dr. Elizabeth Reinhardt, her therapist, help her?

The characters of the story are sketched out quite well. There is detail to that aspect. With the story flitting in and out of the past and the present, from the point of view of one character to the other, the character development aspect is definitely aided. That’s one part of the novel that I liked. But, when it comes to thrillers, the much needed aspect is pace. Perhaps it’s because of the multiple points of view, or because there’s a lot of detailing about the therapy sessions and such, the pace wasn’t enough to keep me engaged.

This is the first time I have tried an audiobook. But I like how the book has been read out, with various voices and pace. It was definitely an interesting experience, though after a while, it became difficult for me to keep track of the plot. It’s a personal choice, and my experience does not reflect in the rating or the quality of the book itself. But I feel this book would be better experienced in print than audio, so one can go back and check the characters and such if necessary.


abm_r_5
A score of 5 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Relentless
Author(s): Nancy J Alexander Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B00MRGNDOU Publisher: NJA Productions

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
21st December 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

One thought on “Book Review: Relentless, by Nancy J Alexander

Leave a Reply

