Book Review: The Time Keeper, by Mitch Albom

They say time and tide wait for no man. I think that that is true. Life seems to go by so quickly when we’re having fun, yet each moment seems much longer when something is a chore. At times, we are obsessed about the past or too focused on the future that we forget to live in the moment. One of my favorite poems looks at that too, how we don’t have time to stand and look at what is around us.

This novel focuses on three main characters. The first is Dor, though we know him as Father Time. He is the creator of the world’s first clock. But time was not made to be measured, so for his sins, Dor is punished. His punishment… to realize his mistake while in a cave by himself, listening as the people crave more and more time. He craves to die, but he cannot. He’ll be spared only when he can realize his mistake, then find two people to share his lessons with. The first person is Victor, who’s a very wealthy man. The second is a teenager, Sarah Lemon, who’s smitten by a boy she has recently met. The two people have different notions of time. Dor has to get to them in time.

I love beautifully designed book covers. One of the first things that attracted me to this novel was the cover. Previously, I have read two books written by Albom. Both Tuesdays with Morrie and Five People You Meet in Heaven were breezy reads, inspiring beyond words, and went into a select few books I call as my favorites. The Time Keeper, in comparison, didn’t engage me as easily. I loved the characters of the three protagonists, how their life was played out. Sarah Lemon’s story felt like it could be some girl’s true story too. The concept was interesting and beautiful, but it wasn’t unpredictable and it definitely lacked a magic that Albom’s writing usually has. I had a feeling I knew how it’d end, and as the story progressed, I just wished it would.

I would read it again, but I would recommend Five People You Meet in Heaven or Tuesdays with Morrie more eagerly than I would recommend this novel. Perhaps this is better read before the other two, just so it doesn’t seem as unexciting.


A Score Of 7 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: The Time Keeper
Author(s): Mich Albom Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9780751541182 Publisher: Sphere

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
22nd June 2017)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

