Book Review: A New Leaf for Lyle, by Holly Jahangiri

Children’s fiction is a beautiful genre. I love it because it has to be written in a simple language, one that the child has to understand. The simple presentation adds to the magic, and more often than not, I imagine myself reading the story to a child. The themes don’t necessarily have to be convoluted either. It was very recently that I came to know of this book, and thought I’d read it.

The short story, all of 42 pages, is the story of a boy named Lyle. His heart is in the right place, but has a particular bad habit that might go against him in the future. But there is time for him to turn over a new leaf and stop the possibility of getting a bad reputation. Can his mother’s idea inspire him to do just that?

One thing I love to see in children’s fiction is beautiful illustrations. They help keep the child engaged. The illustrations by Carrie Salazar are very nice and add to the simple tale. There aren’t any twists or turns to this story, but that’s quite okay with me. I could relate to what Lyle felt when he decided to run away from home, and in a way, I could also relate the story to a well-known and beloved fable. Unlike the fairy tale, this story thankfully seems like it has a happy ending. I loved the character sketch that the child would be able to understand, and also the fun character of the mother. And it’s a book with a moral that I felt would help young children.

I would peruse the story again, just because it brought a smile and made me nostalgic. In all honesty, the book could be a one-time read, mainly due to its length. I do wish the book was longer, with multiple stories from Lyle’s life. I think that that would have made the book more interesting as well.


A Score of 9 out of 10
Book Details
Title: A New Leaf for Lyle
Author(s): Holly Jahangiri Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B00K1TW6DY Publisher: CreateSpace

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
30th July 2017)

mysign2017

6 thoughts on “Book Review: A New Leaf for Lyle, by Holly Jahangiri

  1. Thank you! This was such a nice surprise to start my week. I love that you wish the book were longer; already, it’s ten pages longer than the “industry standard” for picture books, but I did not want to cut it short – a story must be as long as it needs to be to tell the tale properly, no more or less.

    1. It was a quick read that helped me to break a block that seemed on the horizon. 🙂 Thank you, Holly. Hope more stories come. Longer is better. Maybe a collection of four or five 42 page stories would be good.

    2. For older readers, definitely! You know that for picture books, 32 pages is the industry standard, so it’s already 10 pages longer than it’s “supposed to be.” Which makes me doubly glad you’d have wanted more! (Nothing worse than a writer overstaying her welcome, treading into “TL;DR” territory!)

Leave a Reply

