Book Review: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, by JK Rowling

The Harry Potter series is perhaps my favorite fantasy series ever and one of my favorite series ever, across any genre. When I had acquired the box set of the books, I came to know of three accompanying books too, that formed The Hogwarts Library collection. Without further ado, I bought those three too. I had read Quidditch through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them earlier. This book completes the set.

A copy of the book The Tales of Beedle the Bard is left to Hermione by Albus Dumbledore in the last book of the main series. Though they assume that it is left to her because of her love for reading and books, one of the tales in the book plays an important part in the final quest of the main series. It was there that I first came across it. Then the seventh movie gave me three titles to look forward to too… The Wizard and the Hopping Pot, Babbity Rabbity & the Cackling Stump and The Tale of the Three Brothers. The last one was my favorite, having read it in the last of the Harry Potter books, but I wondered if one of the tales in this collection would be better.

From the five stories, my favorite is The Fountain of Fair Fortune. Each of the tales is simple, magical and contains a moral. They were for wizards what fairy tales were for Muggle children. I loved all five, though the ending to the story The Warlock’s Hairy Heart made me wonder if it is something children would have loved to hear. The book or the stories cannot be compared to the Harry Potter series, which I grew up with, but I think they are brilliant in their own right. The writing style definitely helps add to the charm of the book, and has the magical narration that Rowling’s writing has. The illustrations in the book were also wonderful, as were the explanations or thoughts on each story by Albus Dumbledore.

This book is, doubtlessly, one that I would re-read again and again. I think it has that evergreen quality to it, one that makes me sure I’ll love it after that fourth or fifth re-read too.


A Score of 10 out of 10
Book Details
Title: The Tales of Beedle the Bard Series: Hogwarts Library #3
Author(s): JK Rowling Genre: Fantasy
ISBN/ASIN: 9781408835043 Publisher: Bloomsbury

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
31st July 2017)

mysign2017

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, by JK Rowling

    1. 🙂 It is a beautiful book, but you’ll have to grab it with the box set that also has Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and Quidditch Through The Ages. Hope you enjoy all three of them.

Leave a Reply

