(Book Review) Ronaldo: The Phantom Carrot Snatcher, by Maxine Sylvester

I find that when I’m hooked to a fictional series, I try to read all available books in the series very quickly. It’s truer when the series falls into one of my favorite genres. I recently read the book Ronaldo: The Reindeer Flying Academy, and was quite impressed by it. When I saw that the second book was also available, I didn’t wait further. I borrowed the same quickly and read it.

Ronaldo, the two-snowflake cadet at the Reindeer Flying Academy, continues to excel at his assignments. He is the top cadet, and the rest try to catch up to his accomplishments. But he is facing a slight problem. The carrots he keeps in his bag seem to mysteriously disappear. His best friend dubs the thief The Phantom Carrot Snatcher. Could they find the thief before more carrots are stolen? As they try to solve the mystery, Ronaldo finds a new friend in one who is considered a reindeer’s enemy. Can he keep his friendship with Ernie a secret?

I feel the author has retained the strong points from the first book. The simple and easy-to-follow language will be a treat for children to read, and one they will love. I admire that she has illustrated the books herself, and like the first book, this one too has some sketches that look beautiful even in black and white. My favorite is Ernie, Rudi and Ronaldo sitting with the superhero plan. I love Ronaldo’s helpful nature, and that’s something children will understand too, I feel. It reflects that innocent, trusting nature of children. And it was nice to see his helpfulness appreciated by Ernie’s family too.

The author bio at the end says that the author is working on the third book in the series, slated for release this year. That gives me one more book to look forward to. It’s a series that I’ve become fond of, and I wish the author the best for bringing out more such wonderful children’s fiction.


A Score Of 10 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Ronaldo: The Phantom Carrot Snatcher Series: Ronaldo #2
Author(s): Maxine Sylvester Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B01N64ZOFF Publisher: N/a

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
26th August 2017)

mysign2017

2 thoughts on “(Book Review) Ronaldo: The Phantom Carrot Snatcher, by Maxine Sylvester

Leave a Reply

