Book Review: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists, by JK Rowling

It’s a pleasure when I can escape into a fictional world and take a break from reality. Hogwarts and the magical world that the Harry Potter series creates is just one of the worlds I frequent. And yet, there are secrets that the world has still to reveal.

A Muggle can’t fathom the idea of a Ministry for Magic. As Vernon Dursley put it, “People like you in government? No wonder the country’s going to the dogs.” And yet, for some peace in the Wizarding world, that ministry (and by extension, the Minister) is vital. Over the course of the Harry Potter series, we see three Ministers (not counting the puppet Pius). Who were some of the other Ministers of Magic, and what did they contribute? How did Azkaban come into existence?

This short book shares these details, and also some other ones, like more details about perhaps the most despised character in the Harry Potter series. I loved reading every bit of it. My favorite parts in the book were those relating to a favorite poltergeist and a confused Potions master! There’s always magic left to discover, so that also helped to make the book more interesting. My only lament, as with the Guide, was that the book was so short.


A Score Of 10 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists
Series: Pottermore Presents #2
Author(s): JK Rowling Genre: Fantasy
ISBN/ASIN: B01JLXET6C Publisher: Pottermore

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
30th August 2017)

mysign2017

26 thoughts on “Book Review: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists, by JK Rowling

    1. There are some problems with putting link, Chandresh. Hence I avoid it. I think if the book appeals, the person will look for that book even without a link anyway. 🙂 Glad you liked my review style. Thanks!

  1. I can never get enough of books and never ever of Harry Potter series. Waiting for my daughter to grow enough to read these. I wanted to explore the blog further, but this book caught my attention and phir kahan jana. I know about this book but haven’t read as unavailable in paperback. Unfortunately, I don’t enjoy reading on screen, So, guess will have to wait to read this. 😦 But after your review I wonder how will I be able to resist reading it.

    1. I’d recommend a Paperwhite. 🙂 Even I didn’t enjoy reading eBooks and on-screen (mobile/laptop), but the Paperwhite Kindle changed that. 😀

      Hope you return to my little blog and explore further soon too. Thanks, Rashi!

Leave a Reply

