Book Review: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

The first of three Pottermore Presents books that were released last year, this book shares tales of heroism at Hogwarts, one of my favorite places to visit through my imagination! I don’t need a reason to read (er… reread) the Harry Potter series, and these three books add to that nicely.

I admire the teachers who teach magic at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Be it the Charms teacher Filius Flitwick, the Care of Magical Creatures teacher Rubeus Hagrid or even the Potions master Severus Snape, I feel each have their own strengths and weaknesses. My favorite two teachers are Professor Minerva McGonagall, who teaches Transfiguration and Professor Remus Lupin, who had taught Defence Against The Dark Arts in the third book. This book gives more information about these two teachers, and I quite enjoyed reading that. It also brings to the fore, a teacher who is mentioned in the book only once. I liked reading about him too.

They aren’t “short stories” per say, but character sketches or additional information. But they do have magic in them. It makes me admire some characters more, and it makes me wish that more such information is known. The Harry Potter series may have ended, but there are still many secrets and back stories that can be shared. I’m hoping this Pottermore Presents series is a beginning to doing just that.


A Score Of 10 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies
Series: Pottermore Presents #1
Author(s): JK Rowling Genre: Fantasy
ISBN/ASIN: B01JLXETNK Publisher: Pottermore

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


I am taking My Alexa rank to the next level with Blogchatter.
Alexa Rank on 2nd Sept: 3,722,301; India Rank: 501,135.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
2nd September 2017)

mysign2017

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

  1. Ah the magic called Harry Potter. I am yet to read these books other than the main HP series but I do know how these books carry us to a fantastic magical world. Can’t wait for my daughter to grow up so that we can relive this magic

Leave a Reply

