Book Review: Children’s Classic Stories (Vol 1), by Aniesha Brahma

There are some stories that we can read over and over again. Some are favorites for a reason. They bring back memories. I feel that’s truer when I read fairy tales and children’s stories that I had read when I was a child. When I saw this book, I picked it up quite happily.

Through this book, Aniesha shares ten stories… Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, Hansel and Gretel, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White and Rose Red, The Emperor’s New Clothes, Rumplestiltskin, The Wise Little Girl, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, and Rip Van Winkle. I needn’t say anything about each story as they’re already known and loved by many people around the world.

I liked the language and the narration a lot, though I wished there was a touch more magic to the latter. But all in all, children would enjoy reading/hearing the tales. There were quite a lot of wonderful illustrations to accompany the stories too, and that was good to see. In particular, I loved re-reading The Wise Little Girl, and Goldilocks. It was good to see a classic story adapted into this book as well, but I thought the story could have had a minor modification to make it more suited to this collection. The book could also have been edited a tad better as well.

There are many more volumes to come in the series, so many more trips down memory lane to come too. I hope that happens sooner rather than later. Waiting to see what stories the next volume brings…


A Score Of 7 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Children’s Classic Stories Volume: Volume 1
Author(s): Aniesha Brahma Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B075WW7Q67 Publisher: General Press

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
3rd November 2017)

mysign2017

Leave a Reply

