Book Review: Tit for Tat, by Archana Sarat

They say a well told story doesn’t have to be very long. So many writers love writing short stories. This book takes the stories a notch further. These are flash fiction. Would they still be “thrilling”? I’ve read the author’s work before, and knew the genre would definitely play to her strengths.

The book Tit for Tat has ten flash fiction stories in around thirty pages. The plots vary too, and don’t have a theme across them other than the genre. From the ten, I had a few favorites, and maybe one or two that I didn’t enjoy quite as much. It’s tricky to tell a lot about the stories without giving away the plot, but I’ll try.

My favorite from the collection is the title story Tit for Tat, where greed plays a big part. It seems like one of the characters has trumped the other, but there’s a twist. I liked that twist, though I kind of guessed it was going to happen.

Another favorite is the story The Other Man, which revolves around love. The story seems straightforward again, but this time, I couldn’t predict the ending. I loved that.

The third story I’d love to mention is the last one in the book, titled Misadventures. The plot was nice, and left me wondering what had happened, whether the character was having a nightmare. Again, it was a twist I loved.

From the shorter stories, I loved the one titled Freedom the best. It made me wonder the distance people can go to get what they want.

I’m not a big fan of futuristic fiction, so HS174 wasn’t one I enjoyed reading. I can see the story appealing to many other readers though. Another story which I liked but didn’t love as much was the one titled Hopeless. Maybe the twist wasn’t as exciting as most of the other stories.

I felt that the book could have been longer, with maybe 15 or 20 stories but the collection is quite wonderful overall, and can be a good read for a half an hour’s journey.


A Score Of 8 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Tit for Tat
Author(s): Archana Sarat Genre: Thriller Shots
ISBN/ASIN: B0764BCSFL Publisher: Readomania

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
5th November 2017)

mysign2017

Leave a Reply

