Book Review: Ganesha’s Secret, by Devdutt Pattanaik

I love reading about Indian mythology. I’ve heard quite a lot from it from my grandparents while growing up. I admire Devdutt Pattanaik’s writing when it comes to that genre, so when I found this book on Kindle Unlimited, I borrowed it without a second thought.

Ganesha’s Secret is an extract from his larger book 7 Secrets of Shiva, which I hope to read soon. The book explores the story of the Elephant God. Even with these stories, there might be two different versions, given the depth of Indian mythology. Rather than just share those stories, or retell them, the author also explores the meaning behind various aspects as well.

One aspect of the book I love is that it is simple to read and understand. There are some stories that I didn’t know before either. Many people may already be aware of the lessons/meaning with the mythology, but I didn’t. So for me, that added to the experience. While it does have those meanings to absorb, I didn’t feel the book was preachy either. There are illustrations in the book, and those aid in getting the author’s point across. I wished the author had used his own illustrations, as with a couple of his earlier books that I had read, but the images were still quite apt and beautiful to see. I expected the book will have a bit of magic to the narration, but was let down in this aspect, possibly because it wasn’t a retelling as such.

Would I read this book again? I would. There are few stories I would love to revisit. Is it the author’s best work? I don’t think so. But it is a beautiful addition to any mythology lover’s bookshelf.


A Score Of 8 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Ganesha’s Secret
Author(s): Devdutt Pattanaik Genre: Mythology
ISBN/ASIN: B074P2G6QV Publisher: Westland Books

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
9th November 2017)

mysign2017

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ganesha’s Secret, by Devdutt Pattanaik

Leave a Reply

