Posted in Books

Book Review: The Boy, The Mole, The Fox, and the Horse; by Charlie Mackesy

Sometimes, a book pulls you into its pages. Into its world. It makes you feel happy in that world. You don’t want to finish seeing that world soon, and yet, you don’t want come out of the world either. This is one such book.

From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life’s universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings. Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse explores their unlikely friendship and the poignant, universal lessons they learn together. (Goodreads)

I saw a post on it on a friend’s timeline and asked her about it. She recommended it wholeheartedly, and even sent me the book. I’m glad, because this book now becomes even more special. Mackesy’s world is one I loved, a story about a boy, who meets a mole, then the two of them come across a fox, and then three of them meet the horse. And their thoughts, sometimes philosophical, true to life as I have thought, so charming, simple, lovable… I didn’t just love the book, I lived through it. And that’s a beautiful thing. It’s 100 or so pages, beautifully illustrated. The illustrations are alluring, makes sense. I thought to read few pages each day but somehow, I ended up reading it through.

This is a book I might read ten times before this year finishes, and I think each read would as beautiful as the one before. But if you have to read just one book this year, I hope that you read THIS one.


Book Details:

Book Title: The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and the Horse
Author: Charlie Mackesy
Genre: Children’s Fiction
ASIN/ISBN: 9781529105100
Pages: 128
Publisher: Ebury Press

Rated a perfect 10/10

Vinay Leo R.
©A Bookworm’s Musing
1st July 2020.

Author:

Poetry and writing are to me, a breath of fresh air in a life that is sometimes covered by the smoke of sorrow or self doubt. They also become the sweets I share to celebrate when life offers me a reason to. But most of all, they are to me, my life. For each word I write is a piece of my heart, a thought that just had to find its way into the world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.