Posted in Books

Book Review: Alycat and the Monday Blues, by Alysson Foti Bourque

Children’s fiction gives a welcome break from adulting, and as such, I love picking such books to read. When iReads offered this book on review, I didn’t hesitate to pick it up.

I think many of us would have faced “Monday blues”. In this story, the central character Alycat also has them. She gets ready for school, but is anxious about the day ahead, and also what she’s going to do for a talent show on Tuesday. But things have a way of sorting themselves out, and it so happens that a stroke of bad luck turns quite unexpectedly into good fortune. What happens? Well, that’s for you to find out.

The story has been written is very simple language, just perfect for children. It brings a smile, and that goes well with the story too. The characters are quite nice, be it Alycat, her mother, or Spotty. They are characters children would love reading about. The story also brings out a strong friendship too, and I feel children would be able to take that as a moral or lesson in a way. When it is an illustrated book, the quality of illustrations also adds to the quality of the story. The ones in this book were quite brilliant. I liked them quite a lot.

My one complaint might be that the story was very small. When the tale is engaging, and has such exciting illustrations too, I feel children would be eager to read more.

I hope we see more of Alycat in the future. Wishing the author the best for this book and the future.


A Score Of 9 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Alycat and the Monday Blues
Author(s): Alysson Foti Bourque Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9781684012459 Publisher: Mascot Books

This review is part of a iReads Book Tour. No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
2nd October 2017)

mysign2017

Author:

Poetry and writing are to me, a breath of fresh air in a life that is sometimes covered by the smoke of sorrow or self doubt. They also become the sweets I share to celebrate when life offers me a reason to. But most of all, they are to me, my life. For each word I write is a piece of my heart, a thought that just had to find its way into the world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.