Posted in Books

Book Review: Thommy’s New World, by Sneha Susan Shibu

When the author shared the news of this book’s publication on a mutual book group on Facebook, the title, and the blurb made me want to read it. So I borrowed it quickly on Kindle Unlimited and did just that!

When Thommy visits his native place in Kerala along with his parents, he is immediately struck by the differences in this new world he has come to visit. The curious mind of the child makes him asks many fun questions to which his parents and grandparents find no easy answer! He goes shopping for fish, sees an elephant, taunts the dog and such… things many of us would have done in our childhood days as well!

This is a story set in one of my favourite places, Kerala, and one that managed to take me to Kerala with its descriptions. It also felt very familiar, made me nostalgic for childhood days when I’d visit my native place for vacation with my grandmother, and ask lots of questions. Many other things felt similar to my childhood too. I loved Thommy, and I think many readers would as well. My favourite part is when he visits a place on his Grandfather’s 70th birthday and does something heartfelt yet unexpected. It felt wonderful to read.

The book is written in a simple way and could be something children would love reading or being read to by parents. The illustrations add to its beauty as well. It is not unpredictable by any means and a reader might be able to know what is about to happen. But it was enjoyable and a quick, engaging light read perfect for a short journey or a lazy Sunday afternoon of reading.


A Score Of 9 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: Thommy’s New World
Author(s): Sneha Susan Shibu Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B07GVM6VF9 Publisher: Self-published

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
28th September 2018)

mysign2017

Author:

Poetry and writing are to me, a breath of fresh air in a life that is sometimes covered by the smoke of sorrow or self doubt. They also become the sweets I share to celebrate when life offers me a reason to. But most of all, they are to me, my life. For each word I write is a piece of my heart, a thought that just had to find its way into the world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.