Posted in Books

Book Review: The Fabergé Entanglement, by Lesley Meryn & Elle Brookes

I like thrillers, especially those that keep me on the edge of my seat. When I read the blurb to this one, I thought it would be a good read. Also, I’d heard of Faberge eggs, and there was that intrigue factor to it as well.

Someone is kidnapped. Well, not just someone, but a billionaire, the CEO of a global security firm. The ransom, however, is completely unexpected. The demand is not for money that is untraceable or a briefcase of bearer bonds, but something very unique and valuable, something that the daughter of the kidnapped person will be in close proximity to through her work. The kidnapper seems to know the daughter Saber very well, and wants her to steal the object, a Faberge egg. The task is not easy in itself, but Saber is not alone in the search of that egg. Adrian Steele, a British Intelligence agent also wants the egg for reasons of his own, to complete the mission of his friend and fellow agent Gerry Cornell who was murdered in Moscow. Who finds the egg first?

A thriller has to have the pace and the plotline to keep the pages turning. I felt this book had the pace, because it’s split into quite small chapters, some hardly a few paragraphs long. But because of that split, it’s a bit more difficult to get into the story, or get an insight into the character sketches. It’s not a bad plot by any stretch of the imagination though. I liked how the ransom demand part was written. It reminded me of scenes in some crime serials. I’m not that fond of romance genre, and I’m not sure how well the mix of romance and thriller here worked. It didn’t throw me off a lot. The novel is also edited quite well too.

I think it would appeal to quite a few readers because of the mix of romance and spy-thriller. And I can imagine watching it on TV one day perhaps. Good luck to the authors and the book. I hope it does well.


A Score Of 7 Out Of 10
Book Details
Title: The Fabergé Entanglement
Author(s): Lesley Meryn & Elle Brookes Genre: Spy-thriller
ISBN/ASIN: B011M2N7W2 Publisher: Self Published

This review is part of an iReads Book Tour. No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
1st November 2017)

mysign2017

Author:

Poetry and writing are to me, a breath of fresh air in a life that is sometimes covered by the smoke of sorrow or self doubt. They also become the sweets I share to celebrate when life offers me a reason to. But most of all, they are to me, my life. For each word I write is a piece of my heart, a thought that just had to find its way into the world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.